Model with high-dimensional stochastic vectors and broadcasting in distributions

Hi.

I’m a newbie in PyMC an am trying to model a problem:

• There are K sheep that are counting humans, where K is a RV from Bayesian inference
  • Each individual sheep has a max human counter before they fall asleep, this is stored in the vector t \in \mathbb{R}^K
  • Sheep are unobservant, so they have a probability p_c of detecting a human passing by and incrementing their count
  • There are l humans passing by in total
  • The matrix c\in \mathbb{R}^{l\times K} keeps track of each sheeps counter at the point of each humans passing
  • For each passing, the amount of sheep falling asleep is observed and stored in a data set, and it is deterministically given by M_j=\sum_{i=1}^{K}{I(c_{ij}=t_i)}, where I is the indicator function. M_j is then used as a mean in a Binomial distribution into which the observations are passed
  • The goal is to do inference on the distribution of max human counters t

The desired behaviour in more traditional Python code is given by:

m = [24, 14, 5, 2, 0, 0] # Observed data (amount of sheep falling asleep in each passing)
l = len(m)               # Total amount of humans passed by

c_param = 1/20  # Parameter for a priori geometric distribution on max counter for each sheep
p_c = 0.4       # Detection probability

# Parameters for Binomial distribution approximating the normal:
p = lambda mu, sd: 1 - sd**2/mu
n = lambda mu, sd: mu / p(mu, sd)

sd = 1.2 # Standard deviation to be used in said distribution

# For the sampler:
n_samples = 5_000
tune = 2_500
with pm.Model() as max_counter_model:
    # Amount of sheep K:
    K = pm.Geometric("K", 1/5_000)
    p_c = pm.Beta("p_c", alpha=11.20, beta=26.13) # Assuming the encounter probability to be centered around 0.3
    like = pm.Binomial("like", p=p_c, n=K, observed=np.sum(m))

# Human counter:
    t = pm.Geometric("t", c_param, size=K) # Max counter for each sheep